legends of the fall
[2004-12-26 - 11:59 a.m.]

For whatever reason, the font size on most web pages is super tiny on this monitor, so I'm going around super-sizing the font everywhere I possibly can.

I know. I should just get a new monitor, but funds are more than tight. My main employer has decided to take back the 20% bonus we got for working any shifts b/t Friday 3pm and Sunday 7am. That means I'm basically getting a $5 an hour pay cut at that job. The other one doesn't pay any better, but at least it's only 10 min. from home. So, I'm friggin skrewd.


Back in the day, I really WANTED to work 20-ish miles from home. There was this notion in my head that if I lived, worked, and slept in a small 2 mile radius, I'd begin to think 'small' too. So, after 10 years of driving a gazillion miles in the dark of night, and after keeping my thinking from getting small, I've had enough. The cold, the danger, the wearyness aren't fun anymore. So, pretty soon I'd better have a job and health benefits. There are 2 cavities in my molars just screaming for attention, not to mention the heavy chest feeling and shortness of breath that I'm having lately.


It's hard for me to get terribly excited about this stuff, though. I heard, on 'Fresh Air' last night, that a new movie called Hotel Rawanda is a pretty good one. It's about the genocide. And I heard that for the past 8, yes 8 years, the government's auditors are unable to understand or decifer Congress's accounts of where our tax dollars went. The books are such a mess, and have been, for 8 years. THAT boggles me.


This morning I've decided to put Legends of the Fall on tv before getting ready for work. Don't ask me why. That movie depresses the crap out of me.

previous - next

newest - older - profile - email - notes - image - lyrics - design - mermaid
diaryland