days off
[2005-11-03 - 8:52 a.m.]

Today was supposed to be day 3 or my stay in South Beach, Miami. Instead, it is day 3 of being home. Why?

It all started when they decided to close down the wings at work. Too many upper respiratory infections, you know. No no, that's not true, It actually all started when I realized that I should check the weather website for the forecast. What did it say?

Norwich Ct, dry, sunny and beautiful until Sunday. Miami Fl, wet wet and more wet until Sunday.

So, I ate the cost of the plane ticket and stayed home. There were no clear and ready answers on Orbitz about how to notify the airline that I decided, finally, after debating for a week, to cancel. One blurb said something abuot letting them know 24 hours in advance, but it was just 12 or so hours until my flight would take off.... and I figured that since I didn't check in, the staff would look me up in the computer and realize that I'm not going.

So, I took 2 unpaid days off at a time when I need MORE money for Cara's tuition, oh and that little item she wants Dad and me split the cost of: a dvd camcorder.

Diary, prepare to get more than the usual amount of 'I hate my job" rants in the next few weeks. For now, I'll just say that the lawn people are creating a racket outside my window, before 9 am, and my coffee's grown cold, and my friend hasn't called me back about going out in the field ministry yet, and guess what, it's all good. Because four days off of work can do that to you.

previous - next

newest - older - profile - email - notes - image - lyrics - design - mermaid
diaryland