it rained all 5 days of my minivaca
[2006-05-19 - 11:44 a.m.]

There is good news and bad news.


The good news is that my family is doing well. I've lost 35 lbs. The apartment is still cool. Work... that waxes and wanes but this past month of May I was honored to be Employee of the Month, which normally isn't a big deal, but it was special b/c May has National Nurses day and Nursing Home week. Out of 20 odd nurses and 40 or so cna's I got the nod. Neat, no?

The bad news is that the television is sending out subliminal message rays that are making me spend too much money on tv shopping channels. My dd16 is sending out subliminal guilt rays that are making me buy her 65 dollar baseball hats.


Last weekend I went to the assembly in Newburgh. The drive was quite easy. James Taylor and I were singing duets in the morning and I was listening to Asian underground happy hardcore on the drive back in the evening. During one of the talks on Sunday, Bro. Magnussen said that he used to have the job of stripping down the 'used' furniture they got for Bethel. He hated it. Pulling out staples, yanking out old stuffing, etc. Then when he got it down to the bare bones of the piece (which were often times broken in places) he would hand it over to other brothers who had the job of redecorating or restoring the furniture.

After making a joke or two about old age and keeping half of you in a drawer somewhere *glasses, teeth, hearing aide, etc* he reminded us of our dedication and hopes. He concluded his talk by saying that we CAN have hope, b/c regardless of our 'shabby' fabric and dirty stuffing, or Lord Jesus and Jehovah can't wait to get their hands on us. They WANT to work on us, and with us, to bring us back to where we would have been.

On Saturday, I was able to stay after the program for half an hour and help with clean up. Sunday however, I needed to get home. As always, I look forward to the next time.

previous - next

newest - older - profile - email - notes - image - lyrics - design - mermaid
diaryland