when you think you have no more faith to lose
[2005-09-25 - 11:54 a.m.]

The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman was on pbs last night. I watched until bedtime. My mom and sister and I saw it the first time it aired, years ago, and last night I was watching it with my daughter.

Just 3 nights ago, there was a huge arguement b/t an RN, who is white and lives in a very much white world, and my co-worker LPN who is black and has lived in alot of places in the States, but grew up in Michigan. The LPN was defending someone who called in (with what appeared to be a totally lame excuse) YET AGAIN. The RN was shocked by this, and within mere minutes, they were hurling accusations at each other while working behind and around the nurses station. Nurses aides, patients, even a family member who was there spending time with his wife, witnessed this ugliness.

RN: Are you defending her because she's black? LPN: You just don't like her because she's black.

This is all none of my business, right? Try as I might to stay out of it, they both felt the need to draw me in.

One D-land entry isn't going to dignify all the issues brought up, or all the emotions that were felt. For now, I'll say that I hope I never ever have to watch these 2 mature adults act like jackasses again.


previous - next

newest - older - profile - email - notes - image - lyrics - design - mermaid
diaryland