get out of my sight and find a place to die in a way that suits you, please
[2005-07-04 - 11:00 p.m.]

Today at the pool, a woman intentionally dunked her little 3 year old granddaughter to 'show' her what would happen if the child went over to the deep end of the pool. She sucessfully instilled a life long fear of water into her, and then complained when the child wouldn't calm down and relax in the water. A couple of hours later, I was across the street at the shopping center and I heard a young mother, who was holding a tiny newborn baby, say to her 3 year old daughter: "Shut up!" among other things. 10 minutes later, she left, but another woman was yelling (and I mean full blown yelling out loud) at the little boy she was with in the middle of the store.

So far, although I've tried not to let it ruin my day, it keeps popping back into my mind.


It gets harder and harder for me to tolerate being around the public. I'm not sure if this is just part of becoming older and wiser, or what. Ten years ago, this stuff wouldn't have stayed with me all day. Loud rap music thumping out of a SUV didn't get me furious, but now it does. People standing around in FRONT of the time clock when the oncoming shift needs to punch in so they won't be docked 15 minutes makes me insane. Get out of the way. This happens every single time they come to work, but low and behold, you have to tell people to get out of the way the next time they are languishing in front of the time clock again.

So I'm searching for the common thread in these examples and all I come up with is that these people are all willfully ignorant. And deserving of a cut in rations, and 10 demerits.

previous - next

newest - older - profile - email - notes - image - lyrics - design - mermaid
diaryland