And she was
[2005-10-06 - 12:59 a.m.]

My youngest daughter turned 16 yesterday. If saying that doesn't make me believe I am ancient, nothing will.


So, it's been 4 hours now, and I still don't feel ancient about having all my kids 16 or older. We were talking in the car last night, after we went to the movies. Tiffany was saying she had it hard, being the baby of 4 and all.

I commented that well, at least she had training for later in life when she's at work, surrounded by imbiciles and superiors who truely don't know what they're doing. She will be able to ignore them, I said. Because, since I was the elder of 2 girls in my family, I never had any preparation for putting up with people silently, biding my time, plotting to get even without a trace, and then seeing my perfect plan for revenge bloom to full color in front of onlookers.

I just chafe. Alot.


So, Tiffany had a great Sweet 16. She got what she wanted, AND a boquet of peach roses and a basket of gourmet cookies. I told her that 16 years ago, at 1:32 pm, I was the happiest Mommy in town. The little girl I waited for was on my stomach, and Daddy was even there to cut the cord, and we were all going to be just fine. My baby had a round spot on her forehead, where the doc had to put the sucker on and pull her out. She was getting too tangled up in the cord and her heart was working on too little oxygen, but he got her out, and the round spot would disappear and my beautiful baby was going to be the best. Baby. Evah.

And she was.

previous - next

newest - older - profile - email - notes - image - lyrics - design - mermaid
diaryland