content
[2005-02-07 - 12:04 a.m.]

Frig. I typed half an entry and THEN decided to change the size of the text box. Lemmmme seee....

Now that we don't have tlc, twc, dscv, tvl, ntlg, hgtv, etc, I took a few minutes to sit and just listen to half of the music channels and I found a new favorite.

Spanish rock. Loveit loveit loveit!


There's something else about ghetto cable too. The sounds of late night network shows were part of our old house. Ted Koppel's voice, Tavis Smiley, Charlie Rose, that sort of thing. I used to watch alot more PBS back then, so the first night without Silver Package, I flipped on the PBS special about Broadway and learned where the term 'Big Apple' came from. And strangely enough, it felt like I was finally home.


Admitting that is a bit embarassisng. No one wants to admit that they really enjoy watching tv. Some people won't even admit to owning one. But you see, Diary, I lived there for 3 years, completely single, and never once had friends come over. My aunts dropped by but they stayed in the car, and chatted for a minute and then would drive off, content that we were basically okay. Aside from family discussions and general goofyness, there never were any 'events' that happened at my house. Not for me, anyway. The kids had sleepovers and snapped pictures of themselves wrestling or holding the cat. So our living room was just a tv room, and my relaxation time consisted of coming home from work at 11 or 12, changing out of my uniform, and (on the nights the girls were home being good) sitting down to PBS or Koppel and maybe even Konan O'Brien.

For me, home was a living room with PBS or network news and one comfy chair. A kitchen with a few stray grains of white rice and perhaps a bean or two on the stovetop, and always something handy to pop in the microwave. And coffee. Always coffee. The bedroom was cluttered and dusty but the sheets were clean and pretty, NPR floated classical music or Praiere Home Companion above the mattress, and the windows were always covered in attractive curtins. White noise from a small fan would drown out the voices all night, year round. And the bathroom was a place to spend as little time in as possible. Showers only, since the bathtub bottom was devoid of ceramic and well, just gross.

This place has no microwave or fans and the bathroom and kitchen are new and always clean. But I do manage to keep the music on in my room and the sheets are still clean and pretty. And now we're back to having PBS on in the living room. That's more than many people have so I'll just be content with it.

previous - next

newest - older - profile - email - notes - image - lyrics - design - mermaid
diaryland